top of page

Recovery and Progress

Beginning to recover can be extremely difficult. It can be scary to admit you're ready to get better and move onto the path towards wellness. I'm still recovering and I've been struggling with mental health for a while now but I am still finding my way and taking small steps to get myself well again.

When people think of recovery they tend to think of one straight upwards curve to happiness, however, this may not be true. Recovery, I've discovered through my own journey, is very up at down. There are highs and lows, at first for me there were mainly lows but years on and I have more up moments than down moments. Meaning I have more better days than bad days. I still have blips, I have moments in my recovery where I go through a rough period, but I always come out on the other side.

Also, recovery may not be up or down. It may be "fine" or "okay" moments, not happy or sad moments. Moments that aren't spectacularly amazing or bad, just moments where everything is just okay and you're coping with everything going on in your life as best you can. I found myself very stuck in my recovery at one point. I thought I'd never get better. I couldn't get myself out of a rut, I'd gotten so far in my recovery, then just stopped and not been able to find a way forward. Thankfully, I persevered and fought my way through, I started a positive diary which I've already mentioned on this blog. I haven't really felt "stuck" in my recovery for a long time, I rather feel I am making steady progress with the minor blips.

Recovery is possible even in the most difficult moments. You'll need to be committed and willing to try it. At first, when I began to recover, I thought it was a load of nonsense. Everyone was telling me I could get better and there was another way around my poor mental health but I thought everyone admittedly, was stupid. I feel there are others out there that are the same and I hate to break it to you, but my mind has completely changed and I hope yours can too.

"Life is like a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving."


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page