top of page

Distraction Techniques

When you're feeling unsafe using distraction techniques can be extremely difficult. Before I was able to manage my thoughts and feelings well I used to get told to use distraction techniques all the same and I remember it used to annoy me. This was because it felt like in that moment nothing could help and distracting myself was pointless and it never worked.

I think it's all about finding the right distraction for you. I've tried countless techniques and now there are only a few I use that are helpful. That's okay! It’s okay if you only have a couple that work and the rest that don't because not everything works for everyone. Don't feel bad if someone else suggests their distraction technique and it doesn’t work for you because personally it took me a while to find out what worked for me. Currently I use baths with lush products such as bath bombs and bubble bars, I find this soothing and they smell so nice too. Sometimes laying in the bath makes me think too much but I tend to either do mindfulness or think of positive outcomes of situations I’m going to face in the future. Usually I close my eyes and picture it like a film rolling in my head and I feel the emotions briefly as to what I would feel if I was in that situation. It’s quite powerful once you can tap into it.

I also use Sims 3 which is a virtual reality game. You can create people and animals and the opportunities are almost endless. It’s a huge escape for me as I can create what I want and play the game how I want to. I also have a forum for the Sims 3 which I roleplay on which is good fun and tends to help me.

My next go-to distraction is watching box sets such as Homeland or Criminal Minds. I love TV shows and can relate to characters that I enjoy watching, it distracts me and gives me something to focus on. However, this is not always helpful as I can’t sit still and watch.

In the past I used to “ice-dive”. You can do this at home as long as you have some sort of tub, ice and cold water. To ice-dive you need to fill up a tub with cold water and put ice cubes into it. Then you dip your face into the cold water, it lowers your blood pressure and slows your heart rate, and it helps me calm down as it’s sort of a shock to my system with it being so cold. This means it brings me back to reality and calms me down. I do this for as long as it takes to calm down (and when I start getting brain freeze!!) It may not work for everyone but it helps for me. Usually I have self-soothe kits at the ready but I’ll talk about those on another post.

There are many distraction techniques to use and I’ll write a list of things that have helped me in the past. I use different techniques for different emotions I feel.

When I’m angry I:

  • Snap an elastic band on my wrist

  • Kick a football at a wall

  • Scream into a pillow

  • Use my spikey sensory ball

  • Squeeze ice

  • Go running

  • Do Yoga

  • Use my stargazing light

  • Listen to heavy metal music

  • Go on the trampoline

  • Walk it off

When I’m sad I:

  • Wrap myself in a blanket

  • Hold a teddy

  • Have a hot, milky drink

  • Take a shower

  • Listen to soothing music

  • Watch a film

  • Eat my favourite foods

  • Turn the lights of and listen to music

  • Write in my positive diary

  • Go on Sims or Minecraft

When I’m depressed I:

  • Go for a bike ride and look at the scenery

  • Clean my room

  • Have a bath

  • Go shopping

  • Read a book

  • Use my tangle toys

  • Watch a box set

  • Go on Wii Just Dance game

  • Go outside and people watch

  • Listen to rain music

When I feel empty I:

  • Take a shower

  • Ice dive

  • Have someone play with my hair

  • Paint my nails

  • Take a nap

  • Exercise

  • Sit in my safe place

  • Put make up on

  • Read about my favourite topics

  • Watch YouTube videos

  • Bake something

  • Make a list of my goals

There any many more techniques you can use. I hope you found this helpful and maybe get some ideas from this.

“Make today so awesome, yesterday gets jealous.”


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page